ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Overclocking questions...

BMW e46 320 Ci Sport
Ok guys i'm pretty new to overclocking but i've been doing a lot of readni on different forums.

Going to be overclocking my q6600 to around 3.2g if i'm able.

Questions though:

If you are using ram rated at 1066 on a motherboard rated at 800hz can you up the fsb and in doing so up the fsb of the CPU at the same time?

whats the relation between the FSB and the core and multiplier? from what i understand you change the core and the multiplier to get the result you want but i'm not sure how fsb comes into this? so for example, multiplier 8 and core @ 400hz = 3200hz. how does the fsb affect this?

Voltage:

Is my understanding correct that, in order to maintain stability at higher clocks you have to overvolt the system to compensate for the higher speed? is this wrong? obviosuly this would increase system temps and need a more powerful PSU...

would mine cope messing around with this stuff ? it's a corsair 620w modular psu.

Don't get me wrong i'm not looknig to max the chip as they go all the way up to 4gig if u know what ur doing, but i want a decent stable clock which i can learn by doing and then leave it like that till i need more power.

You guys are legends so thanks for your help!

EDIT:

System specs:
Intel Q6600 CPU
Evga 680i Sli motherboard
4gig OCZ Sli Ready Ram.
BFG 8800 GTS G2 512mb
80gig Raptor 10k rpm sata drive
Corsair 620w PSU
Vista 64bit.