ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Sad day for me, RIP 182 but what to do next?

54 Clio 182 2.0
So, i took my beloved 182 to have it's MOT today and my mechanic told me that whilst it was being tested the engine just seized up, he told be that it looks like the cam belt had snapped, he said due to the nature of the damage it would probably cost more to repair than the cars worth.

So what do I do next? Scrap it? Sell it for parts? anyone have any suggestions? I'm no mechanic myself otherwise i probably would have broke it down myself and sold the parts..:(

Gutted to say the least :cry:

Mec 350 slk manual
So, i took my beloved 182 to have it's MOT today and my mechanic told me that whilst it was being tested the engine just seized up, he told be that it looks like the cam belt had snapped, he said due to the nature of the damage it would probably cost more to repair than the cars worth.

So what do I do next? Scrap it? Sell it for parts? anyone have any suggestions? I'm no mechanic myself otherwise i probably would have broke it down myself and sold the parts..:(

Gutted to say the least :cry:
might be worth picking up a second hand engine

54 Clio 182 2.0
I got it done at Birchdown, and they were done at around 50,000 it now has 70,000.. i bought it in 2011 for 3k so not sure its worth much now plus it's not in the best antithetical condition neither..

sbridgey

ClioSport Club Member
  disco 4, 182, Meglio
I'd take it somewhere who knows what there on about, get them to give you a proper diagnosis

Short Norman

ClioSport Club Member
  997 C4S
did they say if you leave it with us we won't charge you for the work we've done so far :argue: