ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Track Day Wheels & Tyres

Clio 172 2003
Hi
I am relatively new to track days with my 172 and have a couple of questions regarding tyres and wheels sizes as I've seen Clios running all sorts!
I'm looking at keeping a set of front wheels for track days only, mainly summer so hopefully dry, and wondered what anyone would recommend regarding wheel size, mine runs 16's at present, and tyres?
I've not had the car long at it came with 2 x 205's and 2 x 195's so I'm totally baffled!
Any advice thankfully received.

TheEvilGiraffe

South East - Essex
ClioSport Area Rep
Tyre sizes should ideally be the same front and rear on the Clios ! Very odd.

Also, I wouldn't run a set of track tyres up front and 'normal' tyres on the rear. Go for a full set of 4 all round, even if they're 'normal' tyres.

TheEvilGiraffe

South East - Essex
ClioSport Area Rep
If it's a 172, I think the correct size was 195/45/16 out the factory but 205s were fitted to 182s.

Whichever is cheapest, buy them.

Unless you're a trained race driver you'll never notice the difference !

Tyre sizes should ideally be the same front and rear on the Clios ! Very odd.

Also, I wouldn't run a set of track tyres up front and 'normal' tyres on the rear. Go for a full set of 4 all round, even if they're 'normal' tyres.

iv run my fastest lap time with track tyres on front and road tyres on rear at llandow circuit. i agree its not advisable as you get a loose rear but in fwd loose is fast lol

R-Sport.

ClioSport Club Member
  Mint 1*2's for sale-
Hi