ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Black Honda FN2 machine polish - beginner

Danith

ClioSport Club Member
  MX5 ND2/220 Trophy
Black FN2 detail - machine polish
Ok, so I didn't want a black car as it's a pig for keeping clean and showing up scratches. But as it had an LSD I ended up getting a Crystal pearl black FN2.

I've cleaned it a few times by hand and used glazes, polishes and all that jazz and it looks massively better - but still a lot of swirls and cobwebs, so I've invested in a DAS6 pro machine polisher, with hex logic Green/orange/black pads and 3x menzerna compound of varying stages.

Has anyone used the same kit and can give me some total newbie pointers? Are any of those pads too overkill for (apparently) soft Honda paint - thanks.

Assuming I wash, clay (again), dry then go balls out with the machine polisher (using a youtube vid for guides as to what 'route' to use for the machining)? Do you just apply dabs of the compound to dry pads and apply?

Knuckles

ClioSport Admin
Read the machine polishing sticky in here, specifically the zenith technique.

And start with the least abrasive polish/pad combo you have. I’ve removed swirls and scratches from Honda paint with triple and a finishing pad!

Wash, decontaminate, clay if need be (I’d avoid on Honda paint), tape up then polish.

Wet the pad, pad prime or water via spray bottle then apply polish. Work the polish into the pad then add 3-4 blogs of polish before working on the car

Danith

ClioSport Club Member
  MX5 ND2/220 Trophy
Read the machine polishing sticky in here, specifically the zenith technique.