ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Canon 1000d or a 550d??

Mk5 golf gti
Hi people

Im a total camera novice but for a while now ive wanted to get into the world of photography as a bit of a side hobby

i have the money for a camera and i have been to currys and had a play with a few yesterday but im stuck on a decision

i did have my heart set on a 550d with the 18-55 lens as it felt perfect and loved playing round with the options and the quality of the pics was great and the HD video function was also very good

i then went to comet in which they had the 1000d and the 500d i think but they dont power up in there for some reason :S so i couldnt have a proper play, are they quite similar bar the fact the 550d has HD and higher mega pixels etc??

would this be something as a beginner i would even notice the difference between the 3?

As much as i like the HD video function i would probs rareley use it so do i save alot and learn on the 1000d then later on in the year upgrade? or do i just go for the 550d?

i dont really see the point in getting the 500d as i may as well put a bit more and get a 550d

hmm decisions decisions, here are the 2 links for the ones im considering

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CANON-EOS-100...Cameras_DigitalCameras_JN&hash=item33647c7a04

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-CANON-EOS...Cameras_DigitalCameras_JN&hash=item588a69b178

Thanks

I've kind of lost touch with the canon range but from what I can remember the 550d is a little bigger, has a better focus system a better screen and a few other nice touches. The fact that its bigger would be enough for me!

http://www.camerapricebuster.co.uk/
The official canon refurb eBay store is worth watching.