ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Clarke CP180 Polisher Advice

PH1 172 Sport
Girlfriends dad has a Clarke CP180 which he's hardly ever used. I was hoping it would be good enough for minor correction etc?

If it is what backing plates, pads and polish would people recommend I get to start with? Car is Iceberg silver and I would also like to use the polisher to revive my headlights.

I've never used a machine polisher before so all advice is welcome!!

Thanks

If you've not used a polisher before, I wouldn't start with that one. It is basically a rotary and therefore creates a lot of heat. It will also, therefore, cut very quickly.

With Renault Clio paint, you barely need any cut what so ever. I would advise against using the machine above and get yourself a DA.

PH1 172 Sport
Thanks for the reply I understand that it will cut very easily sue to the heat it produces but surely if I’m careful and keep the speed/pressure low and don’t spend too long in the same area it shouldn’t be a problem? I really don’t have the money for a DA and would like to get this working if possible.
I’m not an idiot so hopefully with some careful guidance that shouldn’t be a problem? The first thing I want to do with it is my headlights doing the paint work will come at a later date providing I feel confident enough to give it a go.

It is of course up to you buddy. But the simple fact is you don't know about machine polish and therefore how to do it, so could potentially cause damage. Yes, everyone has to learn some how, but that's your call :)

PH1 172 Sport