ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Decat fitted minus Lambda sensor, 182 cup.

2005 Clio 182
Hey guys, after impatiently waiting on garage after garage to tell me they're too busy, I fitted a decat myself. I couldn't release the lambda sensor from the cat so left it off the vehicle. For some reason, my economy fluctuates a lot more then usual. It was as low as 9mpg tonight. My rationale is that it is compensating for the lack of sensory information so is just throwing fuel into the cylinders. But I'm no mechanic.

Also, it is chuffing a lot from the joint between the decat and the manifold and there has to be a gap there. How can I remedy this without cementing it together making it impossible to get off?

At the moment I am thinking about getting a new manifold to just seal it off legitimately. Would anyone reccomend a particular manifold? It's a 2005 Clio 182 cup.

:dead:

twingo
i don't quite know what you mean by cementing but exhaust paste is used for a reason. it's up to you wether you 'cement' it, or apply a small amount to seal the joint. unfortunately with metal you cannot create a perfect seal, so you'll need a gasket and / or exhaust paste. you're also correct on the fluctuating fuel economy. with no sensory information to let the car know how well it's fuelling, it's going to constantly be on the rich side and switch to lean and then back to rich as if it's panicking. the best thing to do is map the car as soon as you decat to set the fuelling to it's optimum setting.

twingo