ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Key Clio

Clio 2005 1.5 DCI
Hi!

I own a Renault Clio 2005 1.5 DCI Diesel , got it a week ago from my brother ( I'm a total noob with cars ) and something is wrong with the key , it doesn't recognise it.

Lemme reproduce : He came from Norway to bring me the car because he bought a Volvo. During the trip there was a problem with the computer and it had to be cleaned ( water inside ). It worked nicely for a whole week but starting with the last Saturday it started to not recognise the key thus not starting the engine. I have to retry ( plug & unplug the key ) for about 20 to 50 times to recognise it.

Saturday :

I had to lose about 5 to 30minutes to start up the car , it was the same during Sunday , Monday and Tuesday aswell... But this morning I got this problem :

It doesn't start no matter how many times I plug/unplug it. It's totally broken I guess.

Side note : I called the mechanic that cleaned the computer , he went by my house to check it up 30minutes later(saturday).He deleted the old key and reintroduced this one and it worked only for that day. I called him again on Monday and he told me that the computer is broken and I have to buy a new one so he can't help me.

Thanks for reading.
I'm hoping for some good advices.

Last edited by a moderator:

MicKPM

ClioSport Trader
  Clio16v/Zoe Z.E.50