ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

looking at a mk1 172 tomorrow...

E87 118i
rare as hens around here, looks like a possible good deal on a 2001 mk1 172, flame red....

what should I look out for when I give it a butchers ?

thanks

Danith

ClioSport Club Member
  MX5 ND2/220 Trophy
my cambelt wasnt done and mine was at 70k but says in logbook to do it at the 72k BIG service which i had to get done.
just listen out for any harsh knocks or anythin and make sure AC still works and all that crap. and yeah obvious signs of crash damage and get a HPI. im no expert tho. always pot luck with 2nd hand cars but this ph1 given me zero probs so far.

E87 118i
its at renault, so maybe they will offer some sort of warantee?

so Crash repair
FSH
Cambelt

Car SOLD :-(
As all above plus wheel bearings, disintergrating steering wheels, scratched silver internal door pulls. Cam belt and tensioner change is a real must, along with aux belt.

All said, it will always make you smile:D

Chocolate Bar™
Expect wear to the steering wheel, silver electric switches, and drivers bolster
Make sure its had its cambelt done, before 5 years and 50k, or the engine will prob be fooked
check the gear box, if its not tight, and is very slack it will be ragged and therefore prob mechanically s**t
Make sure its been serviced regularly
check the ligths etc are all ok.
If it sounds tapity, or isnt as pokey as you'd like, its prob that the previous owner has used 95 ron petrol and shite oil, i changed both of these on mine and now its as sweet as a nut