ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Looking to buy a Trophy: Questions - Doubts

BMW E30 318is
Hi everyone, I'm a 23yr old Belgian guy, I've always adored the Trophy since I first read about it in Evo. Some things kept me from buying though, as a student my budget is quite limited (low GBP came to the rescue), the fact that it'll be RHD (prepared to live with that) but most of all... I'm an RWD addict, I've owned my E30 for a couple of years now and I really enjoy its tail-happiness.

So, now the Trophy is within reach, I have to ask myself the question, is a Trophy capable of making me forget about RWD, making me happy for at least a couple of years? Should I be concerned about costs with the trick Sachs dampers and should I ask the sellers to get them refurbished before buying? I couldn't think of a better place to ask these questions...

Finally, I'm quite a tall guy (1.93m = 6.33ft I think), would the elevated driving position be a concern? Especially regarding headroom when wearing a helmet?

Here's me in RWD times...

DSC_2473.jpg

All the best,

Frank

172cup
I am 6ft 1 and had no issue in the car even with a helmet on at the Ring!! The seat is slightly lower and to me seems further back than standard 182.