ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Machine polishing newbie...

IW365

ClioSport Club Member
  Clio 172 cup 2002
Hi all,

I'm going to have a go at machine polishing my Clio. I'm pretty happy with most aspects of the job but am a little confused about the final wax/sealant stage. Looking online there seem to be a million different products so I thought I'd see what people on here would recommend, bearing in mind I'm a real novice at this. Would a synthetic sealant be better than a more traditional wax?

It's a mondial blue 172 cup and has never been machine polished so has plenty of scratches and swirls for me to take care of.

The car only comes out of the garage between April and September on dry days if that makes a difference?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Ian

Sir Nancy Flowers

ClioSport Club Member
  M140i
Good luck with the machine polishing. Amazing results can be had with the right technique and knowledge.

In regards to the final stages-

Synthetic Waxes (Sio2 mostly) will generally last longer. They're normally the ones that give insane beading and *should* last up to 12 months if properly maintained and the wax is decent quality.

Traditional waxes, usually Carnuba / natural oil based, are the weapon of choice for those wanting a really 'wet' look but you'll have to compromise on durability in this department. I'm talking in general terms because I've used absolutely crap synthetics that didn't last long and really lovely natural waxes.

I'd have said go with the right wax for the job. Low miles / garage queen - go with a natural wax. They look the nuts. Higher miles / daily - go with a synthetic.

If you want any product recommendations just shoot mate 👍