ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Mongolian Rally

Hello! (First post)

This summer I'll be driving a MK1 Clio (early to mid 90's I believe) all the way to Mongolia.
Thats about 8000 miles. And its all for charity.
http://www.mongoliarally.com/
(I'm a bit of a veteran, as I did it last year in a 1989 VW Polo. Heres a link of me fixing a very broken polo)
http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q66/varnish5000/fixingpolo.jpg

I'm really just looking for advise.

The car is a 1.9 Diesel (Maybe 1992? not the coolest I know but fuel economy is important) which we are planning to convert to run on veg oil using a twin tank system.

The main problem we will encounter are the rough roads in Mongolia and Kazakhstan.

I'd like to know if we can swap the shocks and springs (all the running gear really) for something a bit beefier.
Maybe from a Clio van, or a Megane etc.

I'd like the car to ride higher to get a little more ground clearance.

So can I rob suspension parts from another Renault and just swap them over?
Or is not gonna be that easy?

Also going to fit sump and tank guards, and run the fuel/brake lines through the car.

Any replies would be appreciated, even if its just to chat about the rally.

Cheers
Varnish
(sorry for the long post)

Mondeo TDCI 130
You must be mad!!! ha ha!! Looks like a chuckle if your into it!!, well the clio is a torsion bar on the rear, so if you could source longer chocks that could just be adjusted to make it higher, as for the front there isnt a great deal of bits to be had to my knowledge, the clio van is the same setup!
They dont go to bad the clio diesel!!!

Good luck!!

Lionel Richie