ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Need Clio 172 Phase 2 Tuning Help

Hey all, this is my first post on the ClioSport forum so I hope I've posted in the right place!

I know this question must be asked over and over, but I couldn't seem to find an actual answer, plus I'm kind of on a budget so that's why I thought I'd start my own also.

I (will) have around £400 to spend, and I want to get at least some BHP gains from my Clio 172 Phase 2 (2002). Just wondering what is the best way to go about doing this considering my budget. As I'm new to Clio's and have no idea what's best to do to the car.

Would really appreciate the help! Thanks a lot, Sam.

(Please go easy on me for asking this!)

Last edited:
You're right, it's been asked a million times :p I bet you've got the gist of the average response though - "RS Clios are already fettled a lot from the factory to make standard power, so buy another car or be prepared to spend £1000 per 10 BHP" etc.

RS tuner generic remap (it's a little electronic box. Buy one £100, buy a license £50, buy a map £30, sell the box -£100)
Panel filter in standard airbox (£40)
Proper service with OEM parts (engine oil £40, oil filter & washer £8, plugs £35, GBox oil £40)
Stainless steel exhaust if the original hasn't already fallen off & been replaced £200

Then you MIGHT JUST HAVE 172 genuine Brake Horse Powers if you put it on a trusted, reliable rolling road.