ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Newbie, considering a 172

Mk 5 Golf GT TDI
Hi, first and foremost, great site you guys have here!

As the title suggest's im a newbie and will be in the market for a 172 shortly.

I currently own a 55 plate Golf GT TDI, its an R32 replica (always hated replicas as i thought it was cheating but i kinda fell for the looks and the 50+ mpg on this one!!) and been remapped to around the 170bhp mark. Ive just bought a house with the ball and chain and so am looking at selling the golf, paying off a loan and credit card, which should leave me with around £2000.

Out of that £2000 i wanted something small, as reliable as poss for my budget, and SORT OF economical, but more importantly i wanted something that would give me a bit of a grin every now and again, hence why ive landed here!

I've owned all sorts in the past the good including a 350z, boxster s, 231 RX8, and the not so good, corsa 1.2 8v first car, £900 hyundai coupe shed, and a fiat coupe 20v turbo which loved visiting the local mechanic!!! But ever since i saw the phase 1 172 ive had a soft spot for the little clio sports, but for one reason or another have never ended up buying one.

That will shortly change, and im ideally looking for a phase 2 172 clio with the trimmings, im sure you refer to it as 'full fat', prefferably i'd like it to be standard but am not adverse to some subtle improvements. What i really want to know is what should i expect for my budget, is it realsitic and some general buyers advise really on what to look out for etc etc. I promise i'll use the search button as im guessing all of this has been answered before but its always nice to get some direct responses,