ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

noise from rear of car

Clio 4 :) 306GTI-6
so i did a few searches and i think i know whats wrong but as im new to renault i thought id ask as i dont want to spend to much money incase its not the issue lol

from the rear of my car there is a creaking/rattle. i thought it was exhaust as thats the kinda noise it makes (i still think its part of it) however last night i pushed down a little on the rear of the boot and the car went down, it didnt bounce and it creaked something awful. im pretty convinced this is the noise im hearing when i drive. is this the shocks?

car just passed a year mot on 30th Jan with an advisory on play in the front steering rack joint, no mention of the shocks.

next question if it is the shocks should i just buy coilovers as i wanted to lower it anyway

George@RTR_Parts

ClioSport Trader
  need BRAKES? PM me
The exhaust knocking could be the rear exhaust mount, it has like a star of rubber in the middle that perishes so the hanger rattles around in the square of the mount

Sounds like you have a leaking rear shock. Have a look under car and both these should be fairly obvious.

Depends on budget regarding Coilovers. You can get a set of lowering springs and use them with the existing/new Renault shocks. The shocks are around £45 each and I tend to replace them in pairs. Lowering springs, from either Eibach or Cooskport on here are around £130

Hope this helps

hey G 172