ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Possible guide: Respraying diamonds

As I was bored today, I decided to respray my front and back diamonds. Im getting my alloys refurbed soon too, so this was a good test to see if the colours would look good on the car. As the alloys will be refurbed in graphite grey, I sprayed both diamonds in this colour too :)

Ive posted it here because this is my first time spraying anything, so it seems a bit silly posting a guide on something Ive done once, but anyway the results came out good, so if the feedback is good and this thread is helpdul, then I'll post it up in the guides section.

Ok, firstly:

I first setup a 'spray shop' in a corner of a room (well ventilated!!)

Respray1.jpg

Tools:

Apart from the diamonds themselves, this was what I used:

Respray2.jpg

The front diamond in original state:

Respray3.jpg

Step One: Prep the diamond for priming.

The diamond was sanded down using P600, then P1200 sandpaper.

Respray4.jpg

Step Two: Priming the diamond.

The diamond was sprayed lightly with white primer:

Respray5.jpg

Step Three: Leave to dry.

The diamond was left to dry for 30mins:

Respray6.jpg

Step Four: Repeat previous two steps!

I chose to use two coats of primer, so as above :)

Step Five: Spray graphite.

Using the same technique for spraying the primer, I sprayed the diamond in ford graphite grey, and left to dry for 60mins:

Respray7.jpg

Step Six: Repeat step five! :)

Again, I chose to use two coats of colour. So I sprayed again, and left to dry for 60mins again.

Step Seven: Lacquer coat.

Once the graphite grey had dried nicely, I coated the diamond in a clear lacquer:

Respray8.jpg

Step Eight: Leave to dry.....