ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Problem with locking car! Pretty urgent

Clio II
Hi everyone,

My name's pavel and I'm somewhat new to the Clio community. My friend in Wales has a Clio 2 (1998) that he let me have for free, so I picked it up and drove it home. However, there's some serious problems with it which I need to address URGENTLY.

Basically, the car doesn't lock. He let it sit for about 6 months and when he tried to, the rear doors were stuck. They lock/unlock with central locking, but even when "unlocked" they still dont open with the handle (inside or out).

However, that I can deal with. The main problem is that I can't lock the car. The remote for the central locking didn't work, so I looked inside and fair enough it had no batteries. So I got two CR2016 batteries and put them in. The red light comes on when I push the button now, but the car still doesnt lock/unlock. I tried to get in it and hold the interior central locking button for 5-10 seconds until it "reset" which it did, but when I pointed the remote at the black thing by the light/mirror, it stil ldidn't work.

So the remote seems to be working in that the red light flashes on it, but it doesn't lock or unlock the car.

it wouldn't be so bad if I could mechanically lock it, but when I exit the car from the only unlocked door and try to lock it from outside mechanically, the key just feels really stiff and then does a full turn in the barrel, without the pin going down (without the door locking), no matter which way or how much I turn the key in the barrel.