ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

So I want a new router

Bus w**ker
I've been running a D-Link DIR-655 for a couple of years now and it's always been great, but it's getting on now - it's only single band and has quite a low throughput for starters - so I've decided that it's time to upgrade. Ideally I'd like to future proof as much as possible, within a reasonable budget as this is only for a home network, and I'm thinking dual band and IP6V wouldn't be bad things to have.

So is anyone running anything that fits this criteria that they can recommend?

From the digging I've done and reviews I've read the Cisco Linksys E4200 v2 (can't find it for sale in the UK ATM) and Netgear N900 seem to come out on top.

For the majority of the time it's going to be supporting a wired PC, NAS, Xbox360 and Vodafone Sure Signal v2 along with over wireless iPhone4 and iPad (3rd gen). There is another PC in the house, a netbook, PS3 and god know what else but most of that stuff just sits gathering dust. Oh and it's all connecting to the net through cable (60Mb now I think, although I'm not too sure on that).

Thanks.

Tesla MP3 2021
I have the NETGEAR N900 and it's a superb router, its never put a foot wrong (touch wood)!

AK

M240i
I'll give you this Draytek router my flatmate keeps trying to wire up. LOL.

Also, iPad 3? Good boy.

sbridgey

ClioSport Club Member
  disco 4, 182, Meglio
Two of my friends have this router and have flashed it with DD-WRT, it seems to be pretty good.

Bus w**ker
I have the NETGEAR N900 and it's a superb router, its never put a foot wrong (touch wood)!