ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Speakers crackling

MK3 Clio DCI 86
Hey all, I'm a massive audio noob btw.

On low volume say, 5-10 my speakers sound perfect. When I need to turn up the volume to about number 16-17 because I'm on the motorway my speakers crackle like mad!! especially if it's something with base. I have no idea where to go with this, sounds like my speakers have blown and simply need replacing ? I don't know.

Any help would be great, thanks :approve:

clio 172 cup
could just be poor quality speakers most standard ones are poo also depends what you have the levels set at if the bass is at 6(max) they will crakle and sound awful as they cant handle it try lowering this if it is turned up could also be poor connection worth having a look could be cheap fix rather than new set of speakers

Nyall

ClioSport Club Member
  Titanium Ph1 172
I have the exact same problem as the OP. I've had a mess around the the bass settings and the treble settings but it doesn't make much of a difference.

I've been considering getting an aftermarket head unit and a subwoofer, cutting the bass from the front speakers and letting the sub do the bass, as it seems the front speakers only crackle due to trying to create bass. But tbh, I don't want to spend a fortune on the sound system when the money could be spent elsewhere.

The OE speakers in my 1.4 Dynamique were better than the ones in my new RS. I thought RS speakers were meant to be a little bit better...

Nyall

ClioSport Club Member
  Titanium Ph1 172
Sounds like they've been played at a too high of a volume before and that's blown them, mine play fine at 16-17.

I've since upgraded the headunit and they play even better!