ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Tutorial - Creating a rig shot in Photoshop

I have recently started playing with Photoshop and having looked at a lot of videos on YouTube, and doing a lot of experimenting with shots, I was able to create a seemingly convincing shot of my car, as if it were taken while moving, be it from a chase car, or on a rig.

This was the finished article:

6833357032_12bca116a4_b.jpg

6831458826_248600e4ee_o by Eddie the Kid, on Flickr

A few people asked if I could make a tutorial on how to do it. Now I am no expert on PS so the thought of doing this was a little daunting! I have however had a go at making a quick run through of the process involved, using a new shot, that I took tonight.

I must stress I'm not that competent on PS so please excuse any noob methods or inaccuracies!

Step 1.

Open your image in PS, and immediately create a new layer. Layers will be vital to this working, (if you're unsure on layers and how they work, please have a look on YouTube, there are plenty there) so make sure you continually use them.

6983014965_225e01d953_b.jpg

Tutorial screen grab (3) by Eddie the Kid, on Flickr

Step 2.

Use the "Clone" (again there are lot of videos explaining this on YouTube) tool to clean up any imperfections, in my case, I removed the velcro plates from the front of my car.

6983014463_159292a410_b.jpg

Tutorial screen grab (2) by Eddie the Kid, on Flickr

Step 3.