ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Aux belt and tensioner change

Silver Phase 2 172
Okay guys so my aux belt has started to squeak a little over the last few days and it's doing my head in!

I am a fully qualified mechanic so have the mechanical knowledge to do the job, but being in the trade I have heard how much of a nightmare these things are with no one seeming to give any tips on how to do it easier.

I have had a search and could really find any tips or tricks ( may have missed it ) if there is a thread on this which I expect there is somewhere a link would be greatly appreciated or if someone has some tips then please fire away :)

monaco 172
If your confident in taking off the bumper and slam panel headlight and arch liner then its a piece of cake mate. I'm useless and I managed it on my 182.

The actual belt and tensioner removal and replace is really easy.

There is a special tool for compressing the spring on the tensioner but as I didn't have one I used a jubilee clip which tbh I think makes the job even easier because it leaves you able to get the belt on and off with both hands.

monaco 172
Changing goes along the lines of

Remove drivers wheel
Front bumper and under tray
Arch liner
Drivers headlight
Slam panel
Slacken off bottom alternator bolt
Remove top alt bolt and swing alt forward
Slacken off belt using jubilee clip or tool and remove belt
Remove jubilee clip and unbolt tensioner and idler pulley and replace.

Put belt on and put it all back together.