ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

buying privately

Clio 182
im after a bit of advice guys, im going to a view a clio tonight, 04 182. im crapping myself though that il buy it and when ive got it realise its a shed as im not an expert with cars. Ive had it HPi checked and its all clear but still got this on the back of my mind. It has a years warranty left so am i right in thinking any problems with it can be sorted under the warranty? Id never be able to afford a 182 yet if i bought from a dealer. Sorry for this crap thread, im just really unsure what to do as ive never spent this kind of money before and crapping lol

Daniel

ClioSport Moderator
  Whichever has fuel
any probs the dealer will sort, but just have a drive, if its all ok, and its just a standard car with no body imperfections, go for it!!

106 GTi
As said above any niggles should be sortable by the remaining warrenty. Spend some time checking over the bodywork etc.

If you are really worried mate, i would go with your gut instinct, sometimes the seller can seem really dodgy which might put folk off!?

Yaris Hybrid
Normally I wouldn't touch a used car privately unless it was less than £1000 but if it has a years warranty left then ok. I got my Vectra SRi privately at 2 years old and never had any trouble.

You can look for specific things on the car but also its the non specific things that count. You can kind of tell how a car has been treated without pin pointing one specific thing you are looking at.

I got my used car off a couple in their mid fifties and when I went in his house I saw no photos of children so I knew he hadn't had his 17 year old kid screwing it around with his mates in it etc.