ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Canon EOS 550D

Inferno 182 CUP
I have decided not to go for the 500 and to get the 550D instead.

The guy in Jessops got excited about the 550 and said it uses the internals of the 7D which is a £1800 camera where as the 500 uses the same as the 1000D etc.

He also said the 550 had an 18-55 IS lens. What does that mean?

I am a newb to this so its all a learning curve.

I think you should do a bit of research before spending vast amounts on an SLR if you don't even know about lenses. Read the guides at the top, that would be a good start.

Do you also need so many threads?

Gally

Formerly Mashed up egg in a cup
ClioSport Club Member
Is this the 3rd thread?

Oh I want a cheap 350d! :eek:

Skoda Fabia Vrs 180b
take it you arent interested in tmy camera anymore? The guy in Jessops told you bull crap tbh if you think you will be getting a mini 7d :D

ITB BG 182
IS means Image Stability, if you want to take pictures with less fuzz or haze then this will aid you if you have hand shake.

The man in Jessops, who has lead you to believe your getting a mini 7D is talking s**t.
A 550D with a kit lens will cost you £670ish, this camera has 18mb pictures, 3.7fps (on a low Q setting) image size is 5184 x 3456 and ISO is 100-12800. And HD Movies.
A 7D body only is £1162. same 18mb pics, 8fps as standard in higher quality. Image size the same and ISO is 100-12800 with HD movies.

Now some one correct me if im wrong, but the 7d has more settings within the ISO, shoots faster pictures and handles the ISO alot better rate.