ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

car running odd

1.5dci
ok, im no mechanic but i try - :eek:

ive got a problem with my clio 1.2 8v

after loosing my licence she sat for a year as i didnt want to get rid, anyway after having some bodywork done, bit of paint, new starter, shes now having some trouble over the last couple weeks -

like running a complete bag of sh..
so it was leaking at the rocker cover down the front, into plug one ( would explain the misfire etc ) , then down to the floor so we oilchanged it and changed the filter - granteds i hadnt changed the filter as i didnt have the correct tool at the time for doing it, but a mate come round n we sorted it - that seems to have solved the leak from the rocker cover it- but its still seems to be running poo - like idleing high waay to high .. so for example, revs will be at 1.2k then on there own go up to about 1400, then drop down to 1200 - then she'll idle sweet if i having the heating on full - but then saying that if i decide to open the windowss the revs will drop to around 500 so shes nearly stalling.

ive also had the problem of losing power while driving- will be going along and revs will just drop off the scale, so i have to really give on the gas - to keep her going.

this thankfully only happened for a couple of days then ran fine again - cant quite figure it out.

oh, the other issue is she almost every time takes 2 starts to get going, so key in, tern over - revs up then dies. 2nd time runs fine. ( ive had a new starter )

so i wouldnt mind someone with a little knowhow or anyone who's had this fault before :)

how did changing the oil filter sort out the leak from the rocker cover?:S