ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Clio for track use advice???

Hi guys im in the process or searching for a 172/182 for a bit of cost effective track action. I am a complete novice when it comes to Renaults but seems to be a nice power to weight ratio for the price. And ive heard good handling also.

First off do you think ive picked the right car for track use? (dont be too biased :)

If so what items do you recomend for getting the car safe and reliable ie

Engine/Gearbox - are there any known issues with overheating, reliability when given a good thrashing,things that should be replaced, anything prone to going bang?

Brakes - are standards good or do they overheat easily etc? Shall i upgrade if so what to?

Cage - is there a preferance or perticular make which is better than others?

Suspension - Again is there a prefered brand or setup? What sort of height\stiffness will it run best at? Shall i change all the bushes for nylon?

Wheels - What size wheel and tyres are best?

Are there any members that have gone down a similar route and dont mind posting some pics of their cars and the changes they have made.

Are there any buyers guides to look at so i can spot if there is anything that is going to give me a headache?

Sorry for all the questions, These probably get asked all the time. If so sorry for being a Newbie .Anyway Let me know your thoughts!!
Ash

SIGN UP SIGN UP.... OOOO MUST POST!! Lets post the first thing that comes to mind without looking elsewhere!!!!

lolz

Theres a thread called projects thread, if you look in there you will find hundreds of track projects. Some will take you hours to read!!

CLIO172, BMW3, 3061.