ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Difficulty of brake change, inner arch repair and splitter fit

Clio 182 Black Gold
Hi everyone,
I'm pretty new to this and never really done any work on cars before. I'm looking to change all disks and pads, replace the passenger side inner arch linning and fit a skoda splitter. I know there are how to's on here but i was just wondering if anyone could tell me how hard I might find these jobs (as a novice) and if it would probably just be better to pay someone to do it.

Thanks, jack.

Clio 182 Black Gold
Ye as stated before, I know that there are guides on here. I was just hoping to get some feedback from other people
Who may have done these jobs for their first time and how hard they found them.

Black 172
I don't think anyone can tell you for sure how hard it will be. It does depend on how much of a mind for mechanics you have, and to some extent, luck. By luck I mean whether or not you will run in to problems (like encountering a seized brake disk screw which you round off trying to undo it... that's a major problem for a novice and quite a common occurrence - that problem is easily fixed by someone who knows what they're doing though).

I say go for it, but work carefully and if your not sure about something, ask. You will never know how to do things yourself otherwise. Brake pads and disks isn't the hardest job in the world to do, but it's still a challenge for a novice.

LY 220 Trophy+IB PH1
I'd make a list of tools you will need and go from there, if you have not got the tools I wouldn't start - It's a precursor for a lot of swearing.