ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Paintwork doesn't feel very smooth?

Ph2 172
Hi everyone,

I have had my 172 a couple of weeks now and have given it a couple of washes and waxed it once, but even straight after washing it the paintwork doesn't feel very smooth. It looks shiny and the water beads off it, but it doesn't have the same smooth and glossy feel that my old VTS used to when i waxed it. What can I do to make it nice and smooth?

Ph2 172
I'd say its more gritty than bumpy, but it doesn't feel really rough or anything. I've never used clay before and heard a lot of people who have scratched their paint using it, is it fairly simple to apply?

Yes your car needs clayed.The clay bar will help get rid of the tree sap and all other small contaminenets that are not always visible to the eye.A clay lubricant or quick detailer spray is also needed to help the clay lubricate your paint surafce whilst rubbing with the clay bar.
In the end this will create a surface as smooth as glass ready for the polishing and waxing stage

106 GTi
seb172 said:
I'd say its more gritty than bumpy, but it doesn't feel really rough or anything. I've never used clay before and heard a lot of people who have scratched their paint using it, is it fairly simple to apply?

Wash the car really well first and use plenty of the lubrication, oh er!

Ph2 172
Looks like I'll be giving it a good claying at the weekend then! Will the clay remove the swirling, or will I need to use another product for that?

106 GTi
Will need a decent polish/swirl remover to address the swirls. Claying if anything will enhance the swirls as it strips everything off to bare clean paint.

Ph2 172