ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Should i fit an oil cooler to my track car?

Daniel

ClioSport Moderator
  Whichever has fuel
Unless you're turbo'ing/supercharging/ITB'ing it, I wouldn't bother.

But I'm not an expert.

Renault spent millions developing the car to make sure it runs all day in places like Africa Aus, NZ etc so a few track days in blighty won't hurt it at all.

HBT 172 Cup
I have the JJC cooler kit (mocal), works well, although id just run the standard rubber pipes. Braided just chomps through everything it touches.

Evo
I got one on my ITB 197 and oil temp always remains steady even after laps of abuse.

But on a standard car surely it's not needed? Motul 300V can run upto 120 safely!

The way I see it it's just another place for an oil leak. Think an oil cooler reduces overall oil pressure slightly too?

Jamie86

ClioSport Club Member
  RS175,595,205gti,172
If you get one with a thermostatic sandwhich plate it really can't do any harm fiting one.. that's the way I see it..

Although More joints to leak like Ben says is also a factor I guess..

172/1.2/E30
I'd fit one on a track car tbh. On my lightly modified engine i had temps up to 145°C, now with a small 13 row the temp peaks at about 120°C.

first off get a capillary oil temp and pressure gauge (one that actually has oil in the pip up to the gauge not an electric one)

Knowing oil pressure is more important than temp, as hot oil is better than no oil , and very hot oil will be shown by lower pressure .