ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Smokey Clio dci 80. Any knowledge on here?

Bluebeard

ClioSport Moderator
  Whichever has fuel
Alex W? HMS boat bomber?

I'm not very good with diesels but a mate of mine has a 54 plate clio dci 80.

It starts, ticks over and sounds perfect. Quietest one i've heard in fact.

But on boost, it horses out blue oily smoke.

It had a new turbo, intercooler and all pipework from Renault in 2011 (£1900!!!!) so it would be a bit annoying if it was a turbo again?

Where else should I be looking? Naturally, he's a bit wary of taking it to a garage. Are there any common faults that I should be checking first?

Mr R.

ClioSport Club Member
  A special one.
Dan have you taken the air intake pipe off of the turbo and felt for any play in it?

Bluebeard

ClioSport Moderator
  Whichever has fuel
Dan have you taken the air intake pipe off of the turbo and felt for any play in it?

No, the silly t**t had had it running for half hour before we picked it up. I opened the bonnet, got greeted with 100 degrees of heat and just put it on the trailer.

I'll have a fiddle at the weekend but I wanted to arm myself with some facts before I go undoing stuff on saturday! lol

Mr R.

ClioSport Club Member
  A special one.
I was at Freds the other week and he had a kangoo van in. It drove fine came on boost with no problems.

When he took the turbo off the impeller almost fell out there was so much play in it.

Bluebeard

ClioSport Moderator
  Whichever has fuel
We did an astra van last week and there was nothing left of the impeller! Just stumps! lol.

Dr HMS Derv Destroyer

ClioSport Club Member
  MK1DTi/vivaro/corsa
FPMSL at HMS BOAT BOMBER :lolup: