ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Suggestions on buying hi-miled 172/182

Focus ST
Hi!
I'm new to cliosport. Your community feels great. Hope to join you with my own clio.
Now I'm looking for 172/182 in Moscow. It's very hard to find any of these ones in Russia with low mileage and many of these great cars, as I heard, often are not serviced well here. So I've find an example with about 125k miles. Mostly my worries are about the engine. Could anyone suggest what to looking at when choosing, for example, if there is no service history? Is it a good idea to check compression in cylinders? Or is it okay if it eats some oil (1 liter on 500 miles)? Thank you for you answers and suggestions!

Filters

Wales - South
ClioSport Area Rep
Hi!
I'm new to cliosport. Your community feels great. Hope to join you with my own clio.
Now I'm looking for 172/182 in Moscow. It's very hard to find any of these ones in Russia with low mileage and many of these great cars, as I heard, often are not serviced well here. So I've find an example with about 125k miles. Mostly my worries are about the engine. Could anyone suggest what to looking at when choosing, for example, if there is no service history? Is it a good idea to check compression in cylinders? Or is it okay if it eats some oil (1 liter on 500 miles)? Thank you for you answers and suggestions!

No...no it should not "eat" that much oil in that short a distance. From just that I'd walk away.

Fletcher

ClioSport Club Member
High miles on the F4R shouldn't be a issue if serviced properly. My 172 is now on 152k and the engine is still very strong, and doesn't drink a drop of oil between oil changes.

330i. E30 Touring.