ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Virgin Media 152mb problem

Stay Puft

ClioSport Club Member
  Clio 172
152mb is supposed to be their premium internest and it's awful so far. I've just moved into my student accodomation which is a 6 bedroom town house, and because my room is in a loft conversion two floors above the router, it just drops out constantly, if you are watching a youtube video you have to reconnect about 10 times. Is there anything I can buy, or get another virgin box to make it better?

I'm not tech savvy at all so any links would be appreciated! (I have tweeted Virgin too).

2014 Focus Titanium
Either find some way to cable it (Long Cat5 cable to the router), use a wireless extender on the floor below or get some powerline adapters (these plug into your sockets and use the house's internal wiring as network cable, easy to do!

Turbo'd MX-5 MK4
Powerline adapters would be your best bet if its possible to do that, otherwise sticking the hub into modem mode and getting a better router is what you need. I doubt its the internet connection, I get 160MB with Virgin and its great.

DrR

ClioSport Club Member
  VW Golf GTD
Doesnt sound like anything wrong with the service they're providing at all. You're just to far from the router.

Repeater or above options sound ideal.

Rubicon_

ClioSport Club Member
152 Mbps is a dream in my street, max we get is 8 Mbps around 400 kb/s download speed.

Working away last week I thought i was in the future downloading films at 3 Mb/s.

CrippsCorner

ClioSport Club Member
  Astra VXR
You need this :)

vs09-02_1250cxs.0.jpg

http://www.theverge.com/2015/9/2/9238057/asus-rt-ac5300u-triband-wireless-router-ifa-2015

Stay Puft