ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Airflow. The best std airbox setup.

aucky

ClioSport Club Member
Right, I've been looking at a lot of induction setups, and tried quite a few. And I've been thinking a lot about the science behind what makes different setups behave differently. I'm not an expert in tuning, but I've spent a few year in process engineering, so I've got a fair idea of what I'm talking about. I could be wrong in all of this, but im pretty sure im not.

Before i go into it, I havent dyno tested any of these, and even if i did, it doesnt explain the whole story. For me, the focus is on responsivness.

When people get v6 airboxs they often complain about a lack of response and just get a boomy noise when they put their foot down. This is because they have a larger intake hole. The venturi effect.
Just because there is a bigger hole, it doesnt necessarily mean more flow (sure, theres the potential for more flow) but it doesnt happen immediately. Imagine suckingwater through a straw, and then sucking it through a drain pipe, theres more potential flow but its harder to suck it at the same rate if the suck is the same pressure. (suck = low manifold pressure due to inlet stroke of a piston). This happens a lot at low revs.

So when you plant your foot down with something like a BMC of a v6 airbox, there is a lag due to the low velocity of air (which i think is responsible for smoothed torque curves). This lag causes a high difference in pressure between the inlet side of the filter, and the engine side, because the air drawn in my the engine cannot be sucked into the filter houseing quick enough.
Any performance gains on a dyno will not show this lag.