ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Any 18yr old 16v owners

Lupo Gti

just wondering if there were any, as for my 18th i was gunna upgrade the RT to a VTR, but looking at the thread, it aint that much quicker, so thiknin maybe clio 16v, love the looks, just wondering how much you are paying for insurance , and how ur doing it in terms of insurance, eg, on ur parents name or nething.....!

Cheers

LMS

my ex-girlfriends new chapss got a modded clio 16valve . he had it when he was 17 and was paying about 3000grand to insure it! not sure who with tho.

I work in Insurance and i am aware from having seen it done in the last few weeks that say someone of 18 bought a 172 cup etc and got it insured in their dads or mums name, say they have a crash when we send out one of our investigators to take a statement from the 18 year old and see that the mum dad have say 2 cars of their own or the dad is say 65 years of age and alleges to be an owner of a jazzed up hot hatch, the line has been taken that we will pay as required by law for third party damage but will not pay for the damage to the 18 year olds car as the wrong premium has been charged for the car which leaves the 18 year old perhaps with a repair bill or even a total loss.

Due to the losses Insurers are suffering due to the costs of claims much more harder lines are being taken.

We for example emply several ex cid to investigate such type incidents as it is actually fraud.

I just bought my first car and was tempted as was getting quoted £1k for a 1.4 16v at 26! but through arnold clark got it for £425 with 5 years no claims bonus as i had been driving my dads car since i had passed my test.

Lupo Gti