ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Bought my first DSLR - What next

Hi everyone,

I've recently bought my first DSLR a Canon 1100D with the 18-55mm lens kit.

I'm a complete photography noob. I've been reading the stickies and also at basic guides on youtube etc.

The main use of the camera will be for car shows, holidays and general sights out and about.

What lens do you recommend for these purposes or will the lens that comes with the kit suffice for the time being?

I've been looking at the Sigma 10-20mm, 18-200mm and other accessories. I've just bought a flower/petal hood to go with the standard lens too.

Ash

I'm not clued up on canon but if it's equal to the Nikon d3100 and the kit lens it comes with then it should do fine. You just need to learn how to use it and you'll get some cracking shots. Also, get on the manual bandwagon asap, theres nothing like getting a brilliant picture knowing you done everything yourself! Auto is a bit pointless IMO.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

DB.

BMW 440i
I'd just get used to the camera first before you start buying more lense etc, learn what works best and try and identify any weaknesses in your pictures.

Ay Ay Ron

ClioSport Club Member
Yeah. Get used to the camera first and then think of what you want to take pictures of as that will influence the lens decision.
Did you get it from Curry's? They are throwing a tripod in at the moment for 270 I think. A few lads from work have just bought them.

Edit. Reread OP.
The 18-200 is a good all round lens.

Yeah. Get used to the camera first and then think of what you want to take pictures of as that will influence the lens decision.