ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

help needed with motorsport pics

RenaultSport clio 172 mk2
Hi guys,

Been going through my World Series pictures, and I've come away with very few useable pictures. Silverstone isn't an easy place to get a clean shot as there are so many fences. As a newbie, I also have what can be described as "budget" equipment (a 400D with a £100 Sigma 70-300mm zoom), and although I'm not blaming my equipment for my lack of quality pictures, I found the focus speed to be far to slow for motorsport.
The other problem I had was the weather - it was quite bright, but really overcast and grey.

Ive been reading this thread about PP - http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=363030 but i have no idea where to start. Below are a couple of my pictures from the weekend, can any of you give me some ideas for giving some of these a bit more 'impact' as they all look a bit flat to me?

photo
world%20series%20by%20renault%20160.jpg

My first attempt at panning:

world%20series%20by%20renault%20120.jpg

world%20series%20by%20renault%20150.jpg

world%20series%20by%20renault%20135.jpg

I have realised that I think I had the camera in the wrong AF setting, should I have used spot focus rather than the more general one (I can't remember what it's called)

I also think my shutter speed was a bit too quick, as you guys seem to be shooting at around 1/200 ?

Can any of these be rescued with a bit of photoshop? How would I go about this?

Any help you can give would be brilliant!
photo

Oil Burner
The settings i would normally use for an event like this:

Centre point focus
Evaluative Metering