ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

New Member - Clio RS 172 Build- Melbourne, Australia

TDT

2001 Clio 172
Hi All

New Member from Melbourne Australia.

My Best friend Jason and I have been slowing building/restoring/destroying a 172 for the past two years for amateur track and hillclimb.

Bought the car very cheap from a bloke out in the country who after a few to many at the local pub found the entry to his garage rather challenging resulting in the car requiring some bodywork and new bonnet..

She's no Prize Pig or Concourse Queen but we figured for the price who really cares right?

The car is now 80% of where we wanted it be. We wanted a car to be reliable, safe, not overly complex and easy to work on - A one setting car that we could take out once per month to improve our skills and enjoy a day out with mates without constantly worrying about car adjustments and more on driver adjustments.

Getting the parts for these cars in Australia can be the biggest struggle so when building this car freight from the UK was an unwelcome but necessary expense but we did manage to find some good second hand scores locally such as the wheels and bonnet after trawling the local listings on a daily basis.

Overall we are extremely happy we made the choice to get something a little different to what is normal at the track and it sure surprises plenty of people at the track in more powerful local machinery.

The car has been out twice, first completing stock aside from wheel and second with below set up.

Sorry for the lack of detailed photos, sometimes you just want to get on with the job instead of stopping for a photo shoot at every step!