ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

spark plug cross threaded and stuck in the cylinder head

twingo
what's going to be the best solution? i've dealt with timeserts and helicoils before after blowouts, but i've never witnessed a cross threaded plug that's stuck solid in the spark plug hole!

thanks in advance guys

twingo
cheers marc, the funny thing is i'm a renault trained mechanic i've just never faced a situation like this before. my thoughts were to just get the plug by sheer force, and then attempt to deal with the aftermath but i really need the experts advice. i know that there are lots of guys on here who are way more knowledgeable than i am when it comes to this sort of thing :)

I've been a mechanic for 6 years and only seen a cross threaded plug once ended up using the gun on it and it came out than helicoiled it turn it over with the plug out gets any debris if left out then pray

Mr R.

ClioSport Club Member
  A special one.
I ALWAYS start plugs off by hand, they have a fine thread.

Bottom line is the plug needs to come out.

Aye, gun it out. You've nothing to loose, as it stands the head has to come off, so if you get away without doing that then you've won.

Excatly s**t or bust I think is what you gotta do always start plugs by hand I honestly don't know how you can cross thread them if it goes tight stop undo don't keep doing it up

twingo