ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

the ’clunk’, and heel n toe/blipping

VW Potato

Of those 172/182/Cup owners with the clunk under acceleration - how many of you heel and toe or blip on downshifts? The reason I ask is because Ive collected my Clio and the service chappy said that my engine mounts were about the worst hed seen. This troubled me as I dont wheelspin about and Im mechanically quite symperthetic. But, I do heel and toe and wondered whether the engine rocks a bit when you do that, maybe leading to premature failure of the mounts? Im not technical so this might be me adding two and two and getting five, but just a thought. Ive done this on all my cars in the past (Nova SR, Uno Turbo, the Golf GTis, and the Alfa) and never had a mount fail, but it got me wondering. What do you guys think please?

g

tiTTy & SV650

if you drop from 5th to 2nd a lot you could do some damage there but I doubt heel toeing will have any impact.

VW Potato

cheers chaps. I guess my worry - and the question i put to the service chap - was whether my engine mounts would be shot again at say 60k. Ok, not really a fair question for him to answer, but a concern nonetheless.

I guess i also feel a bit bad about this. Its the first time Ive done mechanical damage to a car, and Ive had it from new so i cant blame anyone else. I even made my Golf clutch last 110,000 miles which i was quite impressed with :)

g

LOTS!

... although not really your fault if the mounts are general sh*te as suggested above?

On a seperate note, for us less in the know people, what is heel&toe-ing??? :oops:

The Jinx