ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Yet another headlight thread

clio 16v
Sorry chaps but here's another one... I'm completely new to this detailing marlarcy and don't understand have of what get said in this section..

Well after reading about the guides on how to do it I went to halfords and got a new drill arbar and a drill buffing pad... I was looking at sand paper but the highest they had is 1200 is this ok to start on? I don't want to f**k my lights up. So I didn't buy and I'm waiting for the paper to come in.. I was thinking of starting at 2000 now because when I got home I taped up the light and just used the buffing pad and some srp and have seen a considerable difference.

So is 2000 ok to start? Or should I start lower because it isn't too bad now? And is scratch x the best or that g3 stuff ? Cheers car cleaning gods

I did mine on Sunday according to the guide.

I started with 1200 then moved up to 1500 wet sanding. I'd start with something a bit lower than 2000 to take out the worse defects and then move up to something higher... Unless it's really not that bad to start with!

IIRC JD mentioned that G3 applied via DA should remove 3000 grit sanding trails, however I used 1500 grit followed by Scratch X and SRP with fairly good results, via a drill bit attachment. Certainly not perfect as there is still some swirling on the headlight covers but major defects removed I am happy with them.

U got any pics of your finished results wick?