ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Towing car capacities and driving to races

Hi all,

I'm new to racing and all the associated things that go with it so I apologise in advance for the plethora of questions I'm going to be spamming the forum with.

My project is for rallycross and hillclimbs, maybe some other stuff here and there.

I'm currently in the process of replacing my company car and really want something which can tow the car on a trailer, but with a budget of £18k, options are not broad.
At the moment the only reasonable car I can get within budget with a fairly economical diesel engine is a Seat Leon hatch or estate. Towing capacities across the 1.6 and 2.0 diesel are 1500 and 1600kg respectively (12%) 1800 for all (8%).

With all the weight reduction, I imagine the completed car will be around the 1000kg mark and two axle braked trailers seem to hover around 500kg.

Is anyone else towing a car and trailer with a 1500kg limit or is everyone else using higher capacities?

In an ideal world I'd love to have a big meaty estate with 4wd and a 6cyl diesel but the budget is immovable and the ceiling for towing capacity seems low.

In addition, the lead time on the car seems to be until at least April or May, so I likely won't have a tow car for the first races in March and April.
Has anyone driven a race car (road legal) to rallycross/hillclimb events before? Obviously would rather not, but without any other option I also don't want to miss half the calendar.
Obviously would have someone with me with a support car.

Any help on this welcome as I'm a towing/racing newbie.

Cheers!

Dan

JamesBryan

ClioSport Club Member
You'll get a decent tow car for £18k!