ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

New to renault, but won over by ph1 172 flamer, progress pics.

As with title, I was on the market for something cheapish that had a bit of poke that's not ten a penny and came across a standard, untouched flame red ph1. I've never owned a renault before and as a driver by trade (new cars) after a quick test drive out in the ph1.. I loved it. A very underrated car indeed.

So hooked I was/are.

This is the original pic from ad. Excuse my MSpaint skills - life's too short.
A_zps609e16ff.jpg

The engine was looking neglegted but it had never been touched, so onwards and upwards.
A0_zpsd32f3b84.jpg

Prepping ready for removal.
A2_zps220a4281.jpg

A6_zps80b6ac41.jpg

And out it goes.
A9_zps17a28336.jpg

A11_zps1b94d4e6.png

A13_zpsa46cf55f.jpg

I managed to source an 80k 172 cup engine with everything done, dephaser, belt, pulleys, pump, plugs (platinums), oil, all new delivered cheap as chips.
A4_zps45dd7550.jpg

New clutch.
A14_zps5775b517.jpg

And in it goes.
A15_zpsd40bda00.jpg

Shazam. I've now removed the fuel rail cover.
A17_zps89f06cac.jpg

Radiator had seen better days.
IMAG0222_zps2f2c3f01.jpg

IMAG0223_zps4136e061.jpg

IMAG0224_zpsdfb61409.jpg

The fire wall looks awful.
IMAG0228_zpsbc91c794.jpg

A cheap fix.
IMAG0225_zps86f9fc29.jpg

Makes a fair bit of difference.
IMAG0230_zps7cd538ca.jpg

A quick mock up with v6 box, itg filter and 90 degree bend.
IMAG0232_zpsf2a5c483.jpg

I wasn't happy with the brown tint to the headlights.
A18_zpseeee6606.jpg

A19_zps73b64943.jpg

So they had to be sorted and my old man did an amazing job with them...cheers popsicle :cool:
A20_zpsd9365cf7.jpg

PH2 rear lights. I have yet to rewire.